About Adulting With Kids

Due to the age of social media and search engines, information has never been easier to access; however, this has also made it harder to discern trustworthy sources. Adulting with Kids entails being a responsible consumer of information so that you can make the best decision possible when it comes to your precious family. 

Given our combined experience in cognitive development, medicine, and motherhood, our goal is to empower you by translating the latest research in child development in an engaging way as well providing you with tips to implement it. In other words... We do the research for you so that you can spend your valuable time being a mom!

With that being said, we know every child and circumstance is different. So our hope is that you take this information and apply it in a way that works best for you. After all, we believe that mom (and sometimes dad) knows best.

Adulting: to behave in a a responsible manner; to engage in activities associated with adulthood

SisterPic2.JPG

About the Creators

BrettandSara.jpg

Sara Valencia Botto

Hey there! I am Sara, Catalina's sis (can you guess who is older? ;) I am a doctoral student pursuing my Ph.D in cognition and development. My research focuses on social development in early childhood, which I get the privilege to conduct at the Child Study Center. When I am not buried in empirical articles, I love dating my husband Brett, whom I have been married to for 3 years this past October. I also love practicing my parenting skills on our fur baby, Teddy ;). Lastly, I love laughing over delicious food and wine, spending time with my amazing family, playing with my awesome niece and nephew (Jack and Kate), watching romantic comedies, and growing in my faith. I look forward to sharing with you!

Catafamily.JPG

Catalina Valencia Urbizo

Hello! My name is Catalina, I am so excited you have stopped by :-). To tell you a little about myself, I love Jesus! He is the one who has given me purpose and allowed me the honor of being a mommy to Jack (6) and Kate (3) and the gift to do motherhood with joy and determination. I have been married for 8 years to the love of my life, best friend and partner in crime, Matthew :-). I am an orthopedic surgery PA. I love spending time with my family, who are my best friends and my heroes! I love to read and spend most of my free time reading (but let's just say there is not much time for that these days hehe). Traveling and trying new foods are my favorite earthly pleasures. I hope you find our research as helpful as I have while raising my two babies.